The project involved the improvement of visitor facilities throughout the castle, along with safety improvements and restoration works.
The Admissions Building has been constructed using blockwork clad with oak boardingand features oak windows & doors and a cedar shingle roof.
Externally works included the formation of a new car park, alterations to turnstiles and safety / restoration works around the medieval well.
Internally alterations to the castle shop include new oak clad steel beam roof supports, oak joists and flooring, along with a new fully glazed screen to extend the shop into the Great Hall.
Other alterations included restoration of the historic kitchen floor and refurbishment of the toilets including the provision of disabled access.
Framlingham Castle is a magnificent 12th century fortress with a long and colourful past. The castle was once the refuge of Mary Tudor before she became Queen in 1553 and visitors can now explore over 800 years of life at Framlingham Castle in the ‘From Powerhouse to Poorhouse’ exhibition.
The Narthex, St. John's Roman Catholic Cathedral »